Phylloscopus Publications

Three Arias from Cantatas 148, 52 & 41

Three Arias from Cantatas 148, 52 & 41

Cover photograph
See larger image
Flexible scoring
ISMN 979-0-57016-343-4
(EAN-13 9790570163434)
Weight 174 grams
Published 31st December 1998
Availability 3 in stock

Cat No. PP253
Price £19.95
ComposerJohann Sebastian Bach
ArrangersC M M Nex
F H Nex
EditorsC M M Nex
F H Nex
Difficulty level7

148: alto, ob, ob or ob d'am, cor ang & bn; 52 & 41: sop, 3obs & bn; with cl in B flat in lieu of singer. Two scores and Parts. Composer: 1685-1750.

Johann Sebastian Bach was born in 1685 and died in 1750. The details of his life and career are well documented, and his extensive and talented family continued the musical tradition into the next generation. During his professional career, Bach was organist in Arnstadt and later at the Weimar court, and Kapellmeister to the court of Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cöthen. But it was while in Leipzig as Cantor of St Thomas', that he produced most of his best-known church music. He was in Leipzig from 1723 until his death, producing a steady stream of cantatas for the church services, over two hundred in total. He also wrote motets, the Mass in B minor, Christmas Oratorio and the Passions, according to St John and St Matthew. His cantatas include many beautiful and moving arias for solo voice with one or more instrumental obbligati. This collection brings together three arias with obbligati oboes, from Cantata 148 (for the 17th Sunday after Trinity), Cantata 52 (for the 23rd Sunday after Trinity) and Cantata 41 (for the New Year). These arias may now be performed as individual items, not only as part of the complete cantata.

The arias are scored for soprano (Cantatas 52 and 41) or alto (Cantata 148) with obbligato parts for the oboe family (two oboes and cor anglais in Cantata 148, three oboes for the other two) and supported by a continuo line suitable for the bassoon. The vocal line has been transposed for performance by clarinet in Bb, so that these arias could be performed by a five-part instrumental group. The music was set by C.M.M. Nex and F.H. Nex.


  • From Cantata 148 for the 17th Sunday after Trinity
  • From Cantata 41 for the New Year
  • From Cantata 52 for the 23rd Sunday after Trinity

© Copyright 2018 Phylloscopus Publications. Site Queries: Contact our webmaster