Phylloscopus Publications

Four Soprano Arias with oboe d'amore obbligato - (Score and parts)

Four Soprano Arias with oboe d'amore obbligato - (Score and parts)

ISMN 979-0-57016-312-0
(EAN-13 9790570163120)
Weight 182 grams
Published 31st December 1997
Availability 7 in stock

Cat No. PP229
Price £12.95
ComposerJohann Sebastian Bach
ArrangerDr Lance Whitehead
EditorsC M M Nex
F H Nex
CategoryVoice & Chamber Ensemble
Difficulty level7

Soprano, ob (in lieu sop), ob d'am, bn/vc, keyboard/organ. Score and Parts. Composer: 1685-1750.

PP229 ISMN 979-0-57016-312-0 Score and parts

Johann Sebastian Bach was born in 1685 and died in 1750. The details of his life and career are well documented, and his extensive and talented family continued the musical tradition into the next generation. During his professional career, Bach was organist in Arnstadt and later at the Weimar court, and Kapellrneister to the court of Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cothen.

But it was while in Leipzig as Cantor of St Thomas', that he produced most of his best-known church music. He was in Leipzig from 1723 until his death, producing a steady stream of cantatas for the church services, over two hundred in total. He also wrote motets, the Mass in B minor, Christmas Oratorio and the Passions, according to St John and St Matthew. His cantatas include many beautiful and moving arias for solo voice with one or more instrumental obbligati. This collection brings together four arias for soprano
with oboe d'amore obbligato, from Cantata 144 (Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin), the Magnificat BWV 243, Cantata 75 (Die Elenden sollen essen) and Cantata 94 (Wasfrag ich nach der Welt). These arias may now be performed as individual items, not only as part of the complete cantata.

The arias are scored for soprano and oboe d'amore, supported by a continuo line. For this edition, the continuo part has been realised by Lance Whitehead from Bach's unfigured basso part, and can therefore be provided, as in Bach's day, by keyboard or organ in addition to or instead of bassoon or cello. The oboe has always been considered to be an instrument close to the human voice in its capacity for eloquent expression, so an oboe part has been provided as substitute for the soprano voice. A transposition of the basso line for cor anglais is also included, allowing the music to be performed as a trio by oboe (flute or violin), with oboe d'amore and bassoon, cello or cor anglais. The obbligato part could also be played by an A clarinet, or by alto flute in G, for which a transposed part is available on request. The music was set by C.M.M. and F.H. Nex.

PP229G ISMN 979-0-57016-314-4 alto flute in G in lieu of oboe d'amore
PP229V ISMN 979-0-57016-313-7 Vocal score


  • Cantata 94 (Wasfrag ich nach der Welt).
  • From Cantata 144 ("Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin")
  • From Cantata 75 ("Die Elenden sollen essen")
  • From the Magnificat, BWV 243

See also...

PP229G  Four Soprano Arias with oboe d'amore obbligato - (alto flute part)
PP229V  Four Soprano Arias with oboe d'amore obbligato - (Vocal score)

© Copyright 2018 Phylloscopus Publications. Site Queries: Contact our webmaster