Phylloscopus Publications

Laura Shur

Laura Shur

Composer Information: Laura Shur

Laura Shur born and educated in Glasgow. Laura studied at The Royal Scottish Academy of Music, and graduated with a Diploma in Musical Education. She then took further study at Jordanhill Teacher Training College to gain a School Teaching Diploma. The same year she gained the ARCM in piano performance and LRAM in piano teaching.

She has given many piano recitals, including a debut at The Royal Festival Hall and BBC Broadcasts, as well as ensemble playing with the Scotia Trio and Four Hands in Harmony Duo.

Her extensive teaching career includes class singing, and music up to 'A' level standard in schools in Glasgow and London, piano tuition at the RSAM, in schools and privately.

She has given lectures at ISM and EPTA conferences, and had articles published by Music Teacher, ISM, EPTA, SMA and ABRSM journals.

Her first compositions were pieces for six hands at one piano, written for piano pupils, which Novello published in 1984 as the first of the successful series 'Tunes for Three'. She now has over 50 publications for piano solo, duet and trio, woodwind, strings, vocal and choral works. Her publishers are Novello, Universal, Lomond, Spartan Press, Alfred, Peacock Press, Lindsay Music UK and Alry (USA), and her works have been performed world-wide.

In 2002 Trinity College of Music added the new category of Piano Trio (6 hands - 1 Piano) to their exam syllabus and commissioned 9 of Laura Shur's compositions. Since 2009 Trinity Guildhall commissioned over 20 of her Trios and, in 2010, added 22 of her published piano duets to their duet category. 21 of these are published by Spartan Press from their 'Keys for Two' and 'Pianoel' series.

She resides in London, and her time is divided between composing, lecturing and teaching.

View list of works

Back to list of composers



© Copyright 2022 Phylloscopus Publications. Site Queries: Contact our webmaster